museum

Museum

Explore the Museum and Gympies history.

In 1867, James Nash discovered 72 ounces of Gold in just 6 days. This started the Gold Rush in Gympie and it became known as The Town that saved Queensland from Bankruptcy.

Gympie has has seen the rush for alluvial gold, deep reef mining, reprocessing of tailings and the re-opening of the mines in the mid 1980s. With the recent cessation of mining, there still remains the lure of residual gold and there may well be more to come.

You can learn all about this, and much more of Gympies colourful and historical past right here at the Museum. The site comprises over 5 hectares containing over 30 display areas in and around 15 major buildings.

 

Entry into the Museum which is open 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. 7 days/week (Except Christmas Day & Good Friday) is via the Café at the Museum, where you can sit and enjoy lunch on the verandah overlooking the Parks and Lakes, or buy a memento of your visit.

Museum Entry Fees:

Family $25, Adults $10, Concession $7, Students (5-16) $5

Tour/School groups are welcome by arrangement (option of a tour guide), and at special rates on the Tour Bookings page.

All Bookings at the Cafe at the Museum Ph. (07) 54823995.

Allow a minimum of 2 hours to browse the displays/exhibits.

tankfullshot  PIC 1863 tank disp PIC 1862 TANK DISP EAST

The Main Museum Building, is the Tank.

The Tank was opened as a historical Museum in 1970. The building was originally a water reservoir constructed in 1902. The Tank was part of the mining lease for the No.2 South Great Eastern Mine, but now it serves as the main exhibition building, housing a snapshot of the contents of the entire museum site. The other remnant of the original mining operation is the stamper battery and although only 10 head of the original 80 remain, they are still on the original footings and give a feel for the magnitude of the early mining operations.

At the No 2 South Great Eastern shaft, accessable via a reconstructed gantry, is an operational boiler house and steam powered winding engine, Air compressor , Generator and ancilliary machinery. Check Events page for steaming dates.

As well as the mining theme, the museum features exhibits from the timber industry, dairy industry, primary production, gems, transport, military and a wide range of social history covering Andrew Fisher an early Australian prime minister, lodges, religion, family and floods.

The Museum hosts events during the year including an Australia Day breakfast, a Steam Festival.
 
In previous years were a celebration of Andrew Fishers Prime Ministerial achievements, and Gold panning competitions. On several occasions the Museum had exhibits on display for events such as the Steam Festival, Ageing Expo and Gold Rush at Gympie Goldfields Plaza.
 
There are also regular Markets held by the Museum in the adjacent grounds.
 
Military Exhibits, Working Steam Driven Engines, Historical Vehicles, Gem Displays, various Original Buildings from the Gympie area that have played an important role over the years, and much much more for you to explore.
 
 
The Leyland Cub Bus
Originally the bus was built in Leylands Kingston works, and owned by Lewis Brothers in Gympie.
Presently this bus is undergoing mechanical maintenance, and in the near future, visitors will once again be experiencing a short vintage bus ride.
 
 
The Coachhouse
This building was fully funded by the Museum and was constructed by members and volunteers in 2013 to house the Museums collection of early carts, sulkies, drays, and other items pertaining to those by-gone days of the horse.
 
 
 PIC 2035 a
 
 

Acknowledging -
The Regional Arts Development Fund is a partnership between the Queensland Government and Gympie Regional Council to support local arts and culture in regional Queensland.

This outstanding artwork 'Hitching an Iron Horse' is a credit to local artists Tina Van and Matt Drewett.

    The old grey mare is in readiness - harnessed to pull the historic buggy up one of Gympie’s steep inclines. The idea of the mural was to attract attention by visitors taking a few steps further to view the sulkies and buggies in the coachhouse building.    
    A true understanding of art entails the balance of contrast between light and dark, which measures and enhances the depth of colour. The mural was painted with several coats, and by a process called ‘under-painting’, basic shapes were blocked in first, before additional layers of light and finer detail were added, bringing the subject matter to life - in this case the life-sized horse. Creating a life-like image on a surface made of corrugated iron brings its own set of challenges for any artist, and every artist has a different technique, influenced by their own experiences, observations and culture. Bringing in the clouds above the horizon from the east and moving out to the west indicates the wind direction we know so well. The detailed landscape of a grassy paddock, with fencing, leading towards the hills sets the Gympie country scene perfectly.
     The mural is ideally located in a prominent position within the Museum for visitors browsing through. It is envisaged that the mural will become a popular back-drop for visitors to take photos with their families: especially with the popularity of social media, the mural could well become a ‘silent billboard’ for the Museum, with people posting photos of themselves in front of the mural.  
      How observant are children? There are two ladybirds in this mural just waiting to be found!
       Many thanks to Tina and Matt for the 211 hours (27 days work) it took to complete the mural, and for their contribution to the Society with a number of extra days.  
 
 
 
                     PIC          PIC                             
Commemorating the opening of the Museums Fire and Ambulance Stations was held on 5th October 2013 by the Deputy Mayor, Cr Tony Perrett, Gympie Regional Council.
The Society is grateful for the donation of historically significant items saved by Graham Alder of the Gympie Fire and Rescue Service, also the restored 1942 International Fire Truck.
 
Our thanks are also extended to Wayne Sachs for his efforts in preserving the local Ambulance history.
This project was fully funded and implemented by the members and volunteers of the Society.
History of the 1923 Austin 20.....This vehicle was once the Governor of Queenslands tourer, but it went downhill from there until the museum acquired it as a rusting wreck some years ago.
After many hours of volunteers work, and several thousand dollars, it has been re-created as a replica of a 1920s Gympie Ambulance vehicle.
 
  
 
LOWER WONGA SCHOOL
This building started life as the Lower Wonga school in 1917. After closure in 1968 it was moved to Queens Park, Gympie for use as a Scout Cub den.

In 2013 it was relocated to the Museum and refurbished by members and volunteers, with funding aided by a grant from Jupiters Casino Community Benefit Fund.
 
The latest project was the recommissioning of the Stampers with the aid of the recently purchased Davey-Paxman steam boiler by the Museum - a view being to demonstrate to visiting school/tour groups.
 
Exhibits of Interest
 
A 77mm M96nA Turkish Field Gun, US Army Second World War 155mm (6.1 inch) M2 gun at the Fifth Light Horse & Military Museum.
 
 
PIC
 
 
Also displayed are the 50HP Ruston Hornsby diesel engine, Imperial Road Roller, 1942 750cc Harley Davidson Motorcycle, Davey-Paxman boiler and many more historic vehicles and machinery.
 
 
 
 
 

PrintEmail